What are vocational qualifications?

Vocational qualifications are work-related qualifications available in a wide range of career areas. They are designed to enable the learner to acquire knowledge and skills that meet recognised standards necessary to perform a particular job.

They are called National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) in England and Wales, and Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) in Scotland. Work performance is assessed by on-the-job observation rather than exams.

Since they are broken down into units covering different aspects of a particular job, they are flexible enough to allow you to use some units gained for one job to count towards qualifying for another if you decide to change careers. NVQs and SVQs are available in five levels (the lowest being Level 1). Vocational qualifications from Level 3 may be used to apply for higher education courses.  

Note: This content is provided as general background information and should not be taken as legal advice or financial advice for your particular situation. Make sure to get individual advice on your case from your union, a source on our free help page or an independent financial advisor before taking any action.

What is WorkSmart?

A career coach that works for everyone.


Enjoy bite-sized activities delivered to you every week.

Lightbulb brain

Equip yourself with essential skills to be the best you yet.


Get the guidance you need to stay focused and reach your goals.

Worksmart circle